Why Celebrities Commit Suicide

“I wish someone would have told me that when I got to the top, there was nothing there.”

At 14, all my life dreams came true.

And I was miserable.

All I had wanted all my waking life was a horse. And I finally got one. Instead of making me eternally happy, it was stressing me out. It is wasn’t as fun as I thought it would be.

Hope is a funny thing. It permeates the core of our being. Everyone has some hope that keeps them going. Some promise that they will, one day, be happier than they are today. But the flip side of hope is that, much of the time, the expectation is more delicious than the realization.

All of us have little hopes, like that raise we’re expecting, or graduation, or retirement. Those little hopes keep us going in a particular direction. Then we have big dreams, unreachable ideals that would guarantee us happiness forever (or so we think). Marrying a particular super-hot person, becoming famous, winning the lottery, the list goes on and on.

But if you expect true happiness to come from those dreams, and one day, all your wildest dreams came true, your hope for happiness would be snatched away. Because fame, fortune, or super-hot spouses don’t bring eternal happiness.

And that’s one reason people who “have it all” commit suicide.

One thought on “Why Celebrities Commit Suicide

Leave a Reply

