I Want Your Fears (or Adult Monsters)

The mother of a child is crying for her baby. A monster lurks outside her halo of blankets, intent on gobbling her heart.

But her child peeks out. She hasnt yet learned pain. She trusts in her mommy, who has always kept her safe. “Why do you tremble?” Her innocent eyes see no reply. “The fog is so beautiful, it’s a fairy land!”

When do we learn that the unknown is scary? At what age do we stop trusting the One who holds us safe? Is it when we first fall down and see blood on our knees? Fear keeps us from touching the fire again, but it can also send us to our graves, frozen in dust.

My Father isn’t one to always keep me from running. He even watches me fall sometimes. But He’s always there to pick me up. Always there to teach me better. And who knows how many times he’s kept me from toppling over?

Years teach is fears. Monsters become letters in the mailbox or empty accounts hiding in the closet. But the One who protects us from giant spiders doesn’t grow less powerful with the passing of years.

Give me the worst of your fears. Compare them to an eternity without God. How small are my monsters compared with eternity. Relax. Be at peace. God is on His throne. Trust the One you know.

Adult-Monsters

Leave a Reply

